• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Mac as a server

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Mac as a server

Anyone tried this? Windows (7) is fab for this, shared drives etc. I'm fairly new to Mac but love my mac book pro and wondering if its worth replacing the whole house with Macs.

I need back up and shared drives (offline access too), media centre (which if I go with Apple TV is fine, but will xbox connect to itunes??) etc. I'm moving towards building / having a system with raid to protect the disks, just waiting prices to drop again!! Can Mac do RAID?
    I didn't say it was your ******* fault, I said I was blaming you!

I am no expert but I think all you need is good NAS .....

You don't really need the Mac 'mini' sever at all from what you have said so far.

I Have a synology DS408 NAS with 4*2TB HDD's in raid configuration at home.

All laptops in the house, Samsung TV, ATV2, Ipad, Iphone, Sonos, PS3 all connect to it for media ...... and Data storage....

I use the mac mini server to hold multiple Virtual machines (i remote desktop into) for downloading/sandboxing, Oracle database developments ..., and as a plex media server

So, I would say get a NAS 1st, and then see what your other needs are before splashing out on a mac server.

css_jay99

Comment

I use my mac-mini as a kind of home server it is hooked up to my projector for movies etc.

Comment

Originally posted by russell View Post
        I use my mac-mini as a kind of home server it is hooked up to my projector for movies etc.