• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What is the trend ASP.Net or PHP ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What is the trend ASP.Net or PHP ?

I am not a developer , just interested what the market trends feel like.
    ASP.NET has better future.
    50.00%
    PHP has better future.
    42.86%
    other - please specify.
    7.14%

I'm not a developer by trade although pretty handy with both those languages.

Of those two choices (and that's an important caveat) ASP.NET would always be chosen as the big business complex application platform. PHP is the small business limited complexity quick 'n' dirty solution.

Just an opinion but never seen it used for big projects in any of the large companies I've worked for.

Comment

PHP is about as secure as your pension under Labour.

Comment

Originally posted by London75 View Post
        I'm not a developer by trade although pretty handy with both those languages.

Of those two choices (and that's an important caveat) ASP.NET would always be chosen as the big business complex application platform. PHP is the small business limited complexity quick 'n' dirty solution.

Just an opinion but never seen it used for big projects in any of the large companies I've worked for.
        FaceBook, Flikr, Yahoo.com, Wikipedia?

ASP will always have a future because it's an MS technology - that doesn't mean it has any technical merit.

You've come right out the other side of the forest of irony and ended up in the desert of wrong.

Comment

Originally posted by bogeyman View Post