• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Obtaining MS Project and Visio

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Obtaining MS Project and Visio

Hi All
    Newbie here, just registered.....I did post this question yesterday (25 Apr) under 'Welcome/FAQ', there have been 101 Views, but 0 replies unfortunately, have been advised to post here under 'Technical', so fingers crossed...
    Just ventured into contracting world, taking voluntary redundancy after 26 years as employee
    My question is - as I'm targetting PM/Consultant roles in integration/interfacing, software development - what/where is the best value option for obtaining MS Project and Visio?
    PCWorld said they only do regular Office suite
    MS website was a little confusing/misleading (eg click on a link for Project or Visio and it takes you to a package that doesn't include it...), though they did ring me up, and suggest licenses through them or an MS partner for Office/Project/Visio licenses at roughly £8/£15/£9 per month respectively, which I guess may be reasonable....?
    Otherwise it seems to be spending circa £1,500 elsewhere to buy Project and Visio, and then presumably pay for upgrades and/or license renewals..
    Any advice on what you've done...very much appreciated
    Thanks

Hi Dingbat, normally the client will supply you with a PC and the software. Alternatively look at OpenOffice Draw (or Libre Office Draw) and ProjectLibre.