• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Website with SQL server

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Website with SQL server

Hi folks....I'm looking for a bit of advice. I'm a complete novice when it comes to building websits, but it's something I'd like to explore. I've been thinking about something I'd like to build and I though about a website for my business and within it, have a simple database that I can use to submit my expenses as and when I incurr them eg on my phone etc. So I figured, as I have copy of Visual Studio and SQL server they would be the obvious (if not over the top) tools to build it with.

I've bought my domain and it is capable of hosting SQL server databases. I have a laptop with the required tools installed. Does anybody know of any good resources that will show me how to get something like this up and ruinning. I've done a few bits of HTML and CSS and while not an expert I can muddle through on that bit. I have no idea how I put together a website that talks to a SQL server backend.

Cheers in advance
    Rule Number 1 - Assuming that you have a valid contract in place always try to get your poo onto your timesheet, provided that the timesheet is valid for your current contract and covers the period of time that you are billing for.

I preferred version 1!

I use Freeola (www.freeola.net), which gives SQL Server support for a small uplift and Wordpress as the CMS. Seems to work out fairly well. Freeola also have their own basic but effective website builder if you just want something simple.