• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

test please delete

Collapse
This is a sticky topic.
X
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by NickFitz View Post
    Another day that's just a long planning meeting tomorrow

These things really bring it home to me how out of place I am in this scene. I'm a web developer: front end, back end, databases, web servers, all of them, some of them, whatever. But this is an IT infrastructure gig: it's all about systems configuration and stuff, which I'm not really interested in as a field. And as so much of it is to do with ClientCorp's specific IT infrastructure, I'm not even that interested in learning about most of it, because it's just third-party solutions like Infoblox (DNS), Tufin (no idea), SolarWinds (no idea), and such.

I just get by with the attitude that input comes in, output goes out, and I write the bit in the middle that transforms the former into the latter. If that process of transformation has side effects like causing servers to be configured or DNS records to be created, great; but, as Sam Ruby has it in the strap line to intertwingly.net: "It's just data".

And on that note, goodnight
    That reminds me (on an unrelated note) of a Self Preening architect I worked with a few gigs back. My job was to transform the data in the legacy systems so it fitted in SAP. Then integrate the legacy apps with SAP by some rest(less) web services.