• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

SDS / IR35 responsibility

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

SDS / IR35 responsibility

Hi all,

new to the forum! I've been contracting for smaller companies for several years and those projects were always outside IR35 due to the nature of the work. I would like to take on a more regular software development contract now and get approached on LinkedIn often about 'outside IR35' roles. I'm confused as to what information to ask for to make sure it really is outside of IR35 - or do I even need to do that at all as with UK end clients it's their responsibility? Does it depend on the size of the end client?

For example a recruiter emailed me today with an Outside IR35 role (according to them) - but the job description includes phrases such as "Fulfill additional duties as requested." and "embedded into our team". None of which sounds very 'outside' to me. Is it sufficient to get an SDS from them and make it their problem?

Similarly I've read posts here about being added to company wide meetings or offered training. Where such actions conflict with the 'outside' nature of the role, should I decline them or is it "not my problem"?

Furthermore these are day-rate contracts and generally don't place any financial risk on my side.

I don't really want to educate potential clients on IR35 requirements but also don't want to put myself into a potential risk situation.

Input much appreciated, thanks!