• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Lamp

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by d000hg View Post
    Originally posted by Tarquin Farquhar View Post
    Do you think there might be a chance that some agents might not know that the acronym refers to those individual components?
    I never knew, and I'm a developer. Although I don't work with PHP or Linux and never have, which might explain it.
    Indeed. LAMP as an acronym involves a number of ambiguities: Linux really means Unixy systems, including Free BSD, Open BSD, and possibly OS X and Solaris too. Apache might be replaced with a lightweight high-performance server such as lighttpd, and either of them might be coupled with things like memcached which require additional knowledge. MySQL could be replaced with PostgreSQL. And, as has been pointed out, the P stands for either Perl or PHP, and some people even use it to mean Python; you don't want to get confused over those, as a competent PHP developer may have serious problems grocking a Perl script (obligatory dig at Perl: "A competent Perl developer would have serious problems grocking a Perl script ").

Generally speaking, I wouldn't trust an agent to have any grasp of what an acronym denotes at all. Given the fact that they usually think that all three-letter words must be acronyms or abbreviations ("Candidates must have experience with WEB technologies..." is one that always annoys me), imagine how confused they're going to get when an ETLA is thrown at them

Comment

I love lamp.