• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract or Permanent?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract or Permanent?

I have a dilema following redundancy in that I have been offered one permanent (not brilliantly paid but local) job in Brighton and one contract job through to the end of March 2006. The contract is in the public sector in the South, and I am a business analyst with 5 years experience.

Does anyone have any idea what daily rate this could reasonably expect to be?

Unfortunately I have to make this decision without knowing the exact rate as the permanent job offer is time-limited and I will need to set up the company and register with the other organisation's agency before negotiating the pay.

I am excited about the idea of contracting but I have reservations based on the fact that with the perm job I have a formal written offer whereas with the contract it is a phonecall offer.

Any advice gratefully received, is there something more I can ask re. the contract job - eg, get a written offer?

Take the leap and never look back ....
    Hard Brexit now!
    #prayfornodeal

Comment

Sounds like the agancy is BSing you. You don't need to set up a company before you can negotiate!

rate will depend on what you do!
      The court heard Darren Upton had written a letter to Judge Sally Cahill QC saying he wasn’t “a typical inmate of prison”.