• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Disillusioned? Maybe just tired of it all...?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Disillusioned? Maybe just tired of it all...?

I've been contracting for 6 years or so now, pretty much without a break other than the odd week here and there, and I've been lucky enough to not actually have a single interview - the client has approached me on every occasion, via ex-colleagues etc.

I'm now in a role that although it is sometimes enjoyable, and certainly is challenging, the client is in such a mess it makes everything a battle.

It's in a different field to my proven technical expertise, but is theoretically an excellent "career" move, assuming I see it through and the project is a success.

If I see out this contract then I stand every chance of being mortgage free at the end of it, early next year, at the ripe old age of 32.

BUT, for the last few months I have found it harder and harder to motivate myself - despite my current rate being a good 25 - 50% more than I might easily get elsewhere.

I don't know if it's because I'm doing a less technical role, or just not enjoying the set-up at the client, or if I just need a holiday. Or if I need to find a Plan B pronto.

I'm sure I'm not alone in this, so how do others motivate themselves to carry on when they are not really enjoying it and there is no immediate financial benefit?

Or should I just jack in the current gig, take a break and go find something else.

Damn, I feel like that after only 2.5 years!

Comment