• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contractor burnout and taking time off

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contractor burnout and taking time off

I've been contracting for 11 years now and have a growing Plan B which is providing a bit of extra income. For the first time in 11 years I'm seriously contemplating turning down an extension to take a month or two off and relax as well as give some extra time to Plan B. I've managed to stay outside IR35 so far this year and there are some gigs coming out in my area that are still outside, but I do worry slightly that the next gig will be tougher to land outside.

Just wondering if anybody else has come to this cross roads and taken a chunk of time out to reassess things, free up some thinking space and how it worked out? I think I've taken on a bit too much over the last 4 years and perhaps it's starting to take it's toll on me a bit.
    Last edited by NorthWestPerm2Contr; 12 October 2021, 09:14.

As tarbie would say, long time deed.

Comment

Originally posted by NorthWestPerm2Contr View Post
      I've been contracting for 11 years now and have a growing Plan B which is providing a bit of extra income. For the first time in 11 years I'm seriously contemplating turning down an extension to take a month or two away off and relax as well as give some extra time to Plan B. I've managed to stay outside IR35 so far this year and there are some gigs coming out in my area that are still outside, but I do worry slightly that the next gig will be tougher to land outside.