• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

£45K per Year is enough ?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

£45K per Year is enough ?

Hi Guys,
    I am currently an IT contractor (BI developer with 5 years experience) in France but I have a Permanent Job opportunity in Central London of £45K per year.
    My current contract is one year long, the rate is 500€.
    I have NO idea how the rates are in London for IT people of my experience especially for Permanent Job but does this salary is fair enough ?
    My motivation for this job is that I want to be fluent in english but I don't to want to survive either compared to my current rate ...
    If this would involve moving with my wife and my 6 months years old daughter to London with only one salary for the beginning ...

Thank you all.

I think your question is the following;

Is £45k enough for a London job with a wife and baby to support.

It sounds tough to me. Really tough. You could do it, but you will be skint.
    http://www.cih.org/news-article/disp...housing_market

Comment

Comment

Bi and married? Are you Oscar Wilde?

Comment

As someone who lives in London the answer is "No".

If you want to live in a decent area where your daughter can eventually go to nursery and then a good primary school then the rents will be expensive and you definitely won't be able to afford to buy. (If you search in the English broadsheet newspapers about school places you will see what I mean.)