• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contracting straight out of uni. Is it doable?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thanks for all the interesting opinions on the matter. I shall start budgeting for setting things up

Comment

Originally posted by cannon999 View Post
      I'm a C# developer with a pretty high first class degree in computer science from a very good uni (also 94+ in all modules related to software engineering). I have worked for 3 IT companies already (roughly 2 years in total now, all .NET related experience). Rather than going for a permie job after graduating - is it feasible to attempt to swim the contractor waters? I have a bit of money saved up so could potentially survive upto 6 months of no pay/set up costs etc. If this is possible - what kind of challenges should I expect/research? Thanks!
      The first thing you will need is an agent. As you are so young it is best you give him 50% of your income to look after for you. email your CV to [email protected]
      Let us not forget EU open doors immigration benefits IT contractors more than anyone

Comment

50% of your income
        Special offer for beginners, then
        The Chunt of Chunts.

Comment

Originally posted by scooterscot View Post
          Please call time on this thread.

It's clear the answer is a big fat 'NO', if its good money you're after.

Not long ago I met a 'consultant' as they called themselves after leaving graduating a year earlier. We're doomed I tell yeh.