• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Zero Zero Society

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

When I was a student I was quite happy to do temp work, especially over the summer when it was typically covering for people taking holidays. If you start making it too difficult to employ anyone like this then all that happens is both sides lose out: the temps don't get the work and the company has to be short staffed.

It's crap for anyone having to work like this long term, but then there will always be crap jobs for people that can't do better for whatever reason. Better education, or just the economy doing generally better is what will make the difference. Bleating about it, or trying to legislate against it won't help anyone.
    Will work inside IR35. Or for food.

Comment

I agree - it just needs to be recognised that there are some jobs out there which are just jobs.

It is never going to be a career, there will not be promotion/career progression/training

So accept that and if you want a career find something you can do other than sell trainers to scallies.

Comment

Originally posted by original PM View Post
        I do not have a huge issue with the zero hours contracts if you are giving people a few hours notice they are not working so they do not need to spend money to get to the place of work.
        Easy to say when you are not working under a zero hour contract.

Comment