• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Java vs .Net contracts - much more .net up north?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Java vs .Net contracts - much more .net up north?

Hi all,

So I think I'll be making a move into contracting soon. I have 4 years experience so far 2 yrs has been java/open source world and 2 years has been MS world i.e. .net, SQL, SSIS in finance, so I think (with a few certifications) I can take on either role.

I've been doing research on what opportunities could be out there for me, I'm currently in London but would like to eventually move up north. Contracts in london appear to not be an issue either Java or .Net; a quick search shows more Java than .Net. In the North West however I'm seeing far more .Net than java roles (about 3x more .net roles).

Thus I have two questions on this:

So I'd like to get a feel for what people have experienced especially those that have worked in the NW. Do you find that there actually more Java roles vs .net (because the agents don't advertise them), or there are actually more .net roles?

Could you please PM me the contact details of an Agent you trust (I know many people don't trust them at all - and with good reason), but ideally someone you know personally and either has mainly contracts in North West and another agent who deals with mainly contracts in London. The reason being I'd like to get a feel for the market from them and discuss with them if this is right time so obviously don't want someone who doesn't care.

Thanks in advance folks!