• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Measuring Success - Bored and Asking for Trouble

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Measuring Success - Bored and Asking for Trouble

I have been a contractor for over 8 years now and barring prolonged self imposed holidays, have never found myself on the bench for more than 3-4 weeks. I almost always find a gig waiting when I finish the last one and have never used an agency to find work for me (Mainly internal referrals).

Yet, at the same time, I am on the same rate as 7 years ago and have slipped way down in my successive clients' esteem of my skills. I was a decision influencer and business process designer but have gradually become a business analyst who simply documents stuff agreed beforehand. I have simply failed to step up or even stay at my previous levels of competence and skills.

Good warchest, poor work and self esteem. Don't know if this is common among contractors. Should I laugh or cry? Or simply keep my head down and keep invoicing even though am reduced to a glorified typist.

Originally posted by AnthonyQuinn View Post
    I have been a contractor for over 8 years now and barring prolonged self imposed holidays, have never found myself on the bench for more than 3-4 weeks. I almost always find a gig waiting when I finish the last one and have never used an agency to find work for me (Mainly internal referrals).