• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Accountant - Crossover To Excel developer? How feasible?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Accountant - Crossover To Excel developer? How feasible?

Hi All,

I'm after a bit of advice. I'm a qualified accountant by trade, gained in industry and commerce and not practice.

I have been a contractor for the last 10 years, and in the last few years my skills have taken me into blue chip companies, pretty much spending my entire time creating and developing models.

Obviously to do this, I consider myself highly competent in Excel and VBA, but there isn't much call for Accountant developer jobs, and each one I have landed as been for a finance role and they have then assigned me with the sole tasks of developing models once I have started and they understand my skill set a little better.

Anyway, to cut to the chase, rather than pitching myself in future as a Management Accountant/ Business Partner/ Finance analyst with really strong modelling abilities, I was wondering if there is a crossover to sell myself as a Excel Developer, with a strong IT focus with the accountancy side to back it up, rather than the other way around!

Can anyone advise on this? If so any ideas as to what the rates would be? I appreciate VBA isn't classed as a difficult language and that rates change up and down the country, but as I'm from a finance contractor background I''m just looking for a Jist...... Or does this market tend to be dominated by IT folk?