• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

What should I do?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

What should I do?

Hi all,

Although I read this forum everyday, its my first post so please be gentle

So I have been contracting at this client for the past month now, and there is something not clicking. The first week I was not given any work, and now I am just repairing old stuff and not the new project I was promised in the interview. All that is ok, at the end of the day I am a contractor so sometimes I expect to work on unattractive things that the perms avoid or are not capable of doing. But the thing is I am getting a really bad vibe of the place and really not even looking forward to walk to their offices. I have been contracting for quite some time now, and I can say that this is the second time that this is happening. Last time about 3 years ago, I resigned after 3 months, but this time I am not sure if I can last that long. I know I should be professional about it, but sometimes its just too hard.

Last week I was also offered another opportunity at a former client, and the rate is the same as I have at the moment, and I am really willing to take this offer. However my dilemma is, what should I tell the current client and how to do it smoothly? I do not wish to leave on a bad note, which most prob will happen, and I do not wish to give the real reason of my departure. What would you experienced guys do in my situation, and also how would you get out of it?

Thanks in advance for the opinions/advice.