• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Meeting the agent before an interview?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by Rabotnik View Post
    I'm new to the contracting game, and this agent from TekSystems wants to meet me face to face before I go for an interview with his client...

He said they build relationships with contractors, so he wants to meet me. He also implied that if I went to the interview I had to accept the role since they "only put 1 candidate forward due to their special relationship with the client".

Is this normal?

This is definitely not 'the norm'. I've just been through this very thing with TEKSystems - exactly the same as you - and the whole thing turned out to be bollocks. They didn't have the leg in on the role, their relationship with the client was no more special than the next guy (let alone the Janitor at the client) and they spent more time wasting energy on doing this stuff (along with their 'harassing insistence' I give 2 references) to then deliver the sum total of - well - nothing !!!!!

Anyone that gives you this sort of speel is more focused around their own position than yours or the client I find. So I'd avoid them.

Comment

Originally posted by Project Monkey View Post
      WHS

I've worked for TEKSystems and know two of their guys in two different regions. They have the same approach, can be a bit over the top at times, but they do keep in touch and we do some mutual back scratching.
      The only back they scratch is theirs. I'd never touch them again.