• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving to London for the first time

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving to London for the first time

Hi,

It's a bit hard to condense my story in a few words but essentially I'm a Java developer (in my card my tittle was 'Senior Java Architect') who left a corporate job in Europe to live in Southeast Asia. Things didn't work out as I expected though and now I need to come back to the old Europe. I don't want to live here but, as usual, I need to pay my bills.

Since I'm going to be actively looking for opportunities in Asia, working as a contractor seems to be the best option. In my country, however, it's just impossible to find this kind of job: just perm positions.

I'm completely new to this way of working and to London.

I've three questions. Any help here would be *really* appreciated.

- My biggest problem is my spoken English. According to my English tutor, it'd take up to a month living in an English country to improve my terrible accent to something 'comfortable' for native speakers.

- My biggest asset is a really nice curriculum backed with strong quality references.

My approach will be to go for a junior position, to compensate the client for the lack of a real, good English. Before we had been working in my company with two French guys who barely spoke my local language. Now

The questions are:

- Based on your experience, do you think it's a realistic approach?
    - Do you know people in this situation?