• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

IT Contracting in Afghanistan

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

IT Contracting in Afghanistan

I'm a Microsoft SharePoint Architect and looking for a contract role in Afghanistan. Why? I'm looking for a new challenge and am sick of working in glass covered, air conditioned, carpeted offices in the UK.

Any contacts/suggestions welcomed.

Cheers

Originally posted by algreen01 View Post
    I'm a Microsoft SharePoint Architect and looking for a contract role in Afghanistan. Why? I'm looking for a new challenge and am sick of working in glass covered, air conditioned, carpeted offices in the UK.

Cheers
    Mate. It aint all fun out there so I've heard. Worked for a Defense company recently and my colleagues used to go there for a few months at a time (i.e Kandahar, Bastion).

Good money. Even as a permie the co paid several £100s a day as a bonus.

However, pre-requisite before getting on plane to go there is body armour and helmet. Because of very frequent rocket and mortar attacks. And its hot, dusty and generally tulipty. Thanks but no thanks - I left it to the younger lads.

Good luck if you do go, I'd imagine contract rates there are pretty good.
    Rhyddid i lofnod psychocandy!!!!

Comment

The rates aren't as good as they used to be, I was talking to a permie here at ClientCo who was harping on about how he has been offered a contract in Afgan at X a day, I hadn't the heart to tell him that I am no that here, albeit not tax free