• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

40hr week what the ...?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

40hr week what the ...?

Has anyone else had to sign a contract working a 40 hour week (excl lunch) which means working 9-6pm. I have been working for 11 years and have always worked 35 hrs per week.

I have quoted the client £350 per day based on a 35 hr week, they did say it was a 40 hr week which I though mean't 35 hrs work and 5hrs lunch. Which now means I need to renegotiate the rate to £400 per day instead or reduce the hours to 35.

Anyone else signed a contract requesting above 35 hrs? new to me

Originally posted by akhtara7 View Post
    Has anyone else had to sign a contract working a 40 hour week (excl lunch) which means working 9-6pm. I have been working for 11 years and have always worked 35 hrs per week.

I have quoted the client £350 per day based on a 35 hr week, they did say it was a 40 hr week which I though mean't 35 hrs work and 5hrs lunch. Which now means I need to renegotiate the rate to £400 per day instead or reduce the hours to 35.

Client in wanting more for less during a recession SHOCKER!
    "Being a permy is like being married, when there's no more sex on the cards....and she's got fat."
    SlimRick

Can't argue with that

Comment

35?

I always assume 37.5, have always had 37.5, and have never been offered a contract at either of the 2 extremes you describe.

What business are you in?

Comment

Mine is per professional day, although they see this as an 8 hour day.