• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

New to contracting help would be good :)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

New to contracting help would be good :)

I'm starting my first contract Monday but i'm very nervous about the whole thing as i've never done it before.

Basically I had trouble finding a contract that would allow me to honour my notice period at my current job, I lowered my rate and and eventually got two contract offers. I have accepted a role for an exceptually low rate (£23ph) because it had more long term potential and it was a 15min drive away from my house. I'm happy to do this as I just want to get a feel for the market and it was a pay increase on my current perm job.

Now I'm not sure if the client is just paying low or im getting stitched up by the agent, the client isnt based in london and the role is an ASP.Net/SQL Server developer role. Now I have 6 years experience in software devlopement and Im finding theres loads of .Net roles about which are around the £35-£40ph mark.

The contract is on a month by month basis and they have indicated they want me to stay for around 6 months, should I ask the agent to lower his commision rate when my contract is up for renewal, any tips on finding out if he's stitching me up?

Any help appreciated thanks.

Dont think of it as the agent ripping you off.
    Think of it as a loss leader to get you in.