• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Average Contract Length

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Average Contract Length

I've been contracting since 2003, my average contract length (including extensions) has been around 12 months, some are 18 and others 9 months, I must admit mostly I get bored or something and leave the client after 12 to 18 months, only once I was not extended after 12 months due to budget cuts. Wondered what everyone's else's average stay with a client, I keep meeting contractors who were 3 or 4 years contracting with the same client, I wonder if it looks negative on my CV to have an average of a 1 year stay? I know am not a permie, but I wonder how client opinion on this?

You have done well with those then. Over the last few years I have had one 9 monther, a few 6 and a few 3 monthers. It's just the type of work I do and expect it to be like this for awhile to come. I don't mind, always seems to be something out there even if it is a distance.

Why would 1 year look bad to a client? A crap load of 3 monthers should worry him more. The clients opinion will be if you can do the role he has and can stay the term you are ok in his book. If you hop constantly you look like a rate chaser and therefore a risk to him.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by zamzummim View Post
      I wonder if it looks negative on my CV to have an average of a 1 year stay?
      No, absolutely not.