• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Same client but another project/depatment; can I get rid of the Agency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Same client but another project/depatment; can I get rid of the Agency

Hi All,

I have been following this forum some time now and I am glad that I've found it since it contains really good info and helpful users.

I have an interesting situation at the moment; I've been working for a client (Investment Bank) for the last 8 months and although they are really happy with me they terminated my contract last week since they wont have any new phase for the current project or any budget; which meant leaving only 2-3 weeks earlier than my normal contract end for me since my contract was ending mid January. But, some other department reached me last week since they heard about my good work there, and they offered me a new contract after an informal chat.

The question is; do I have right to leave my current agency? I could not find anything within my current contract with them which may prevent this. I will probably be able to ask an increase on my new contract as well since there wont be any agency in between. Ethically, I feel a bit uneasy though; they actually didn't have any real chance for getting me a new job since it has been only a week that I've started looking for a work but I had so many bad experience with agencies in the past and I don't feel like my current one is different.

So what would you guys do?