• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Thinking about moving into contracting and would love some helpful advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Thinking about moving into contracting and would love some helpful advice

Hello all

I have been working in my current job for about 5 years now and feel like I would like a change and to develop some of my other I.T skills (database development and design which is one aspect of my job that I really enjoy). I am considering doing some contracting work to help me to do this whilst still working at my 9-5.

I have just started to consider to actually do this although have been thinking for some time about going down the whole contracting route. In terms of legal/tax issues what would I have to consider? Before I started my reading I was under the impression that I could invoice the client and prior to the end of the tax year pay the additional tax and ni if applicable. Are you able to do this? The jobs that I would take on intially whilst still in full time employment would probably be simple small jobs that dont take long in terms of man hours to do - if i can find such jobs! If the contracting took off then I would probably leave my current role and set up my own limited company.