• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Why did you get into contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Why did you get into contracting

Hi,

I'm fairly new in my job (marketing consultant, automotive industry NOT a recruiter, I'm also a permie and not a contractor) and I've been asked to write a guide about the roles of contractors throughout the business and how contractors will more than likely play a larger part on the company (end of the permanent job for life type thing).

I've read lots of posts and seem to have a good handle on what contractors do, how they operate etc however the only bit I'm struggling with is how/why people choose to become a contractor/freelancer in the first place?

I'm guessing it's mainly because of:
    1. necessity - couldn't find permie work?
    2. design - the allure of more money and potential life style choice
    3. hate their boss, culture of the company or combo of both

Is this about right?

Also (on a more personal interest note, this isn't for the report) how many started as a contractor and used it as a stepping stone to starting their own business?

Cheers

I'm guessing for the vast majority, 1 had nothing to do with it.

For me, 3 was the main reason, well more specifically office politics and corporate BS

Comment

Originally posted by R6steve View Post
      Hi,