• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Newbie needs help and advice

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Newbie needs help and advice

Hi,
    I am new to contracting and am looking to start my first in one months time. It is a 12 month full lifecycle project, I am to be the PM, business analyst, Designer, developer, technical author for all documentation, tester, support analyst .... In other words the whole nine yards and then some.

This is an Oracle 9i Developer role using Forms 10g, JDeveloper, Designer, Reports 10g (maybe Java). I will also be undertaking a major data migration, consolidation and clean up exercise involving 4 databases that are to become one. As well as conducting the training and writing the application user guide/ manuals. Now I have done all this before so the role itself although not easy is one I can do.

My question really is what rate do I charge for all this 'expert' project work? (I have 10 years experience in my field)

Originally I was thinking of between £250 and £300 per day, but on reflection believe this to be too low. Does £350 - £400 sound more reasonable, considering all that I am being asked to do. The timescales are pretty aggressive and I believe I will be earning every penny of my rate.

Another thing is how best to develop my contracting career, start my own limited company ? or use an umbrella.

I have looked at:
    ParasolIT
    Prosperity4
    Payscheme+
    NoLongerLimted
    Charterhouse Group