• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

War chests

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Originally posted by MPwannadecentincome View Post
    I'm not a code monkey - I'm a Programme Manager having to work as a Project Manager / Development Manager / Business Consultant.

Financing aspirations - have you seen the state of the school system?

contractor living on permie income - my current rate puts me at about 15% less than what I earned as a permie, plus I no longer have any pension contributions, private health, job security etc.

road to ruin - maybe, the alternatives - we thought about emigrating, started looking at New Zealand - see other recent thread on that!
    You need to face facts. Living on a permie based wage is especially applicable to PM type roles, less so for skilled CM's.

Due to off-shoring of junior CM roles, many senior CM's left in the UK earn more than the PM's managing them. PM's are plugin replaceable @200/day. A niche skilled client facing CM is not. Not only to PM's and BA's need to cut their cloth, they need to get used to the techies they work with earning way more than them.

Comment

Originally posted by HeadOfTesting View Post
      been benched almost 7 months but have around £310k net cash reserves remaining...I learned my lesson in 2001/2 which was extremely rough for me...