• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Moving into project management

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Moving into project management

Hello there

I've been .NET developer for some time now, with experience of technical leading and some covering for project managers. I've been coding in general for about seven years now, and while I'm enjoying the current contractor rates in London I'm getting a bit itchy, and seriously considering if I'd be happy in five years approaching 40 and still be coding away.

I've got an opportunity to take a role, for at least six months working with at with four global brands and two digital agencies, as a technical project manager.

The main issue is it's only three days a week, potentially four sometimes, and due to the the project budget the money isn't going to be great compared to what I can earn as a C# web developer now, so I'll be looking at a lot less cash in the short-term.

So, well - just getting it off my chest really, should I take the plunge? It's a gamble, I'll be out the game; I won't be coding at all in this new role, or perhaps I should try and find some .NET work for the other one or two days a week (easier said than done..).

I'd appreciate your thoughts, especially if there are any developers out there who have made the move to project management.

Thanks

y x

Personally I'd take it for the experience aspect...

I've been looking to move into Project Management myself, but don't know how I'm going to go about doing it.