• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Wise + Monzo to Receive US Payments

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Wise + Monzo to Receive US Payments

**MOVING SECTIONS*

Just wondering if this would be an optimal arrangement to receive payments from a US client (i'm a sole trader in UK)

I have a personal account with Monzo and have setup a US account inside my personal account in Wise to receive USD Payments
    Essentially I would be receiving in the Wise US account, transferring to the Wise UK account and then transferring into Monzo account.

Does anyone foresee any practical issues here? I appreciate there's a 4.14$ charge for wire transfers in Wise but I'm comfortable with that. Also do you think most clients would be happy paying using the Wise US account details?

I appreciate my question might seem rather straight forward, but just trying to sense check myself also.

Thanks for your help.

No, I mean, that’s what they’re intended for. Just give your client your Wise USD account details, which should be a regular US checking account with an account number and ACH routing number.

I would be more worried about dealing with a US client as a sole trader TBH.

Comment

Originally posted by jamesbrown View Post
      I would be more worried about dealing with a US client as a sole trader TBH.
      We've already covered that in his previous set of posts and a limited company offers more flexibility but hey it's his choice and his (massive) risk ...

merely at clientco for the entertainment

Comment