• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Billing by Direct Debit?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Billing by Direct Debit?

I am an outside contractor working with agencies in London. For the little ones who still run manual payments, I often have to remind them to pay me.

Does anyone charge their agency or client via Direct Debit? Given I have a fair bit of weight now, I can make this a condition of new contracts.

Drawback of course is 1% fee through GoCardless, but that's the cost of money now.

Interested in hearing any thoughts or success stories on this.
    Last edited by dankmemes; 27 April 2022, 07:56.

Originally posted by dankmemes View Post
    I am an outside contractor working with agencies in London. For the little ones who still run manual payments, I often have to remind them to pay me.

Does anyone charge their agency or client via Direct Debit? Given I have a fair bit of weight now, I can make this a condition of new contracts.

Drawback of course is 1% fee through GoCardless, but that's the cost of money now.

Interested in hearing any thoughts or success stories on this.
    I've never heard of it, but is 1% fee really worth less than the time it takes you to remind them to pay you? It sounds like a lot if you are invoicing for weeks or months at a time. I guess only you can evaluate the answer to that

Comment

What sort of reminder are you sending you sending?