• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Fulltime staff to part time distant contracting

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fulltime staff to part time distant contracting

Hi there,

Newly signed up on the forum after reading some of the informative posts here.

I have been working at a company for 6 years as a full-time staff. The project I've been working on is coming to a close within a year and I have been approached by a few companies/people to work on their projects instead. At this point in life I would like to give contracting a go as I need a more flexibility with regards to my employment.

My question is, can I quit my current job and immediately work as a part time and distant contractor for my current employer, working max 2 days a week for them as I will be involved in other contracts too?

I'm not trying to dodge NI/tax at all, I'm happy to pay what is due. I just don't want to create an issue for my current employer.

Thanks in advance!

Does your contract with your employer allow for this? If you don't know, I suggest you have a quick look.
    Down with racism. Long live miscegenation!

Comment

NotAllThere There is no clause in my current (full time staff) contract that would prohibit this.

Comment