• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Increase Day Rate

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Increase Day Rate

Hi,

I'm fairly new to contracting. Have switched couple of times and didn't really have to renegotiate my day rate for a contract. Been in the current contract for an year now & the extension date is approaching.

As you already know, cost of living has drastically increased and the NI increases (Inside IR35, paying both Employers/Employee NI from day rate) aren't helping. I'm planning to discuss an increase to my day rate. As I have no experience in this, can you share your thoughts on:
    1. How often do you renegotiate your day rate.
    2. After an year, how much % do you usually increase?
    3. If you're in the same boat as me (with current cost increases) how much % are you planning to increase for 2022? (From my calculations, its around 10%. Covers, additional NI costs & +3% take home)
    Thanks

Originally posted by bbp View Post
    Hi,

I'm fairly new to contracting. Have switched couple of times and didn't really have to renegotiate my day rate for a contract. Been in the current contract for an year now & the extension date is approaching.

As you already know, cost of living has drastically increased and the NI increases (Inside IR35, paying both Employers/Employee NI from day rate) aren't helping. I'm planning to discuss an increase to my day rate. As I have no experience in this, can you share your thoughts on:
    1. How often do you renegotiate your day rate.