• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Being Paid to Support Previous Roles on an Adhoc / Emergency Basis

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Being Paid to Support Previous Roles on an Adhoc / Emergency Basis

Greetings everyone..

Thankyou for all the valuable information present on this site. This is my first time posting, I've had a quick scan but I can't find any information pertaining to my question.

I'm not currently a contractor but is something I am preparing to do in the near future.

I'm currently in a permanent role and there's a lot of software that I am the lead developer on. Essentially when I leave this role there will be a big knowledge gap and they won't have the staff with the necessary skills to support the systems I've created and have been supporting single handedly. Does anyone have any experience of being in a similar situation where they provide consultancy to support their previous roles on an adhoc basis? For example, an issue is found with using the software that they are unable to fix, so notify me to do the work or provide guidance. I do the work outside of the hours of my current contract role and then send them a bill? I guess this would be a fixed rate on a per-hour basis?

Would it be best to do this as a sole trader or as a limited company? I guess this could be confusing if my full term contract role is inside IR35 and there is a clause stipulating I can't do any other work for the duration of the contract. Would sending the bill from the limited company get around this?