• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

caught in IR35, recruitment agency role?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

caught in IR35, recruitment agency role?

Hello, everyone!

I am a contractor. Before IR35, my recruitment agency gave me my service income after deducted 10% fee every month. After April I will sign with an umbrella company and let them do the PAYE, what the agency role will be? will my client still pay through the agency? My agency recommended three umbrella companies to me, Can I believe my agency and pick one of it or I go to find an umbrella company myself?

Many Thanks

Nancy

There is no such thing as before IR35. It's been around thick end of 15 years. There is inside and outside. If you don't get that you aren't really a contractor.

Deducted 10% fee? I'd be willing to bet they've already deducted their cut before it's offered. That's their margin and we get the rest. To let them say here is a rate and we keep 10% is very unusual indeed. Sounds like newbie tax.

If you are carrying on working for the same client you could be caught going outside to inside (but looking at the post who knows what you are) which means you were inside all along so in a bad situation.

Role will be an agent as it always was. Didn't you do your own accounting? It's just someone else doing your accounting now.

Your old situation was Client-->Agent-->Your LTD-->You
    Your new sitaution is Client-->Agent-->Umbrella-->You

Ask the agent if they are flexible with umbrella choice? If not then there is your answer.