• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Going Direct and finding potential clients

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Going Direct and finding potential clients

I'm between contracts at the moment, and since I'm fairly new to contracting, would like a bit of advice about finding clients. I don't want to rely entirely on agents to find me work, so I'd like some advice on approaching potential clients directly. Specifically, if you have experience of doing this, how do you go about finding organisations who are likely to be wanting contractors with your skills?

I have thought about this many times, and even nearly succeeded once (many years ago). The problem was not finding places that needed your skills, but more a question of the stars aligning and them needing them when they are available. Unless you have skills that mean you can act in a true consultancy manner (IE get a few people similarly skilled) or do things that involve a few days here and there across multiple clients I am struggling to see a way forward.

I've seen a couple of sites that aim to join contractors with clients without an agency, but not sure it would work. I quite like having my invoices factored for me too... and not having to worry too much about 90+ day payment terms.

Comment

I've done a few side projects. Most have come from people finding me because I have a bit of a niche. What is it you do?