• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Contract negotiation query...

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Contract negotiation query...

Hi all

I am a contractor on a long term contract with a company. I am operating under a limited company setup and flat rate VAT scheme.

I am being offered (on the latest renewal) a 5% raise to £250 p/d for an intermediate (more than 5 yrs) IT proj manager role in London.

I feel that this is quite a bit lower than market rates at the moment, but they insist that they have benchmarked my daily rate against someone who earns around 65k per annum (perm salary).

I've looked at so many calculators but can't seem to come a conclusion. Using hourly rate x1000 I am way under (30K). Using day rate x 240 I am on 59K (which is better I suppose). But, how come average PM rates are so much higher than? I've had a few agents tell me I am under-paid here, but not sure if they are to be trusted.

No mortgage (desperate to get on though), married with missus in a v stable perm job and no kids...

Just wanted to get different viewpoints from folks here?

TIA
    Last edited by avgjoe; 11 February 2015, 15:20.

Originally posted by avgjoe View Post
    someone who earns around 65k per annum (perm salary).
    But you're not perm, and don't get perm benefits, right? So you probably are underpaid.

Comment

Infact 65k is $250 per day assuming you don't take ANY holiday.

Comment

Originally posted by SpontaneousOrder View Post
        Infact 65k is $250 per day assuming you don't take ANY holiday.