• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Line manager approving time sheets?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Line manager approving time sheets?

Hey folks. Just wondering about this. First time contract - agency just sent me a sample time sheet to fill each month. It is saying it has to be "approved" before the invoice can be paid out. Im new to this, but technically am I not my own line manager? I thought contractors dont report to anyone. So what terminology would we use for this person who approves these, and why do they need to be approved? Just wondering how I should phrase this so we get off on the right path.

Thanks!

Your timesheet needs to be approved by someone with management responsibility at the client, so when the agency eventually invoices the client's financial department the client cannot turn around and say you didn't do the work.

Often agencies pay your invoice before they invoice the client. So to help protect themselves from the client turning around and saying you didn't do the work the timesheet can act as legal proof.

BTW There are a few bad clients who still try it on especially after the last month of your contract. This is why you are advised to not opt-out.
    Last edited by SueEllen; 1 August 2014, 11:23.
    "You’re just a bad memory who doesn’t know when to go away" JR

Comment

Jeeeeeeez
      'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by northernladuk View Post
        Jeeeeeeez
        And breath!