• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Infrastructure Engineer work - not much around? or is there?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Infrastructure Engineer work - not much around? or is there?

Hi All,

Long time lurker, first time poster. I'm an infrastructure engineer based in the north west with around 10 years experience and was hoping to get into the contracting industry. After looking around though, there doesn't seem to be too much work out there at all. At first it looked good but after sifting through all the cv harvesters and bs agencies the one or two odd jobs I found were relatively short contracts, around 6 weeks. Does anyone else on here contract in this sector and can offer an insight? I have a lot of experience with the Microsoft stack and some routing and switching although not cisco.

Another question leading on from this, how do you guys go about keeping your experience up to date? I see a lot of jobs asking for experience in upgrading something to the latest platform in large scale enterprise environments etc, question is, if its a brand new product how do they expect you to already have that experience? have any of you guys picked up new skills whilst contracting or had any training? relevant to infrastructure / networking...