• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

House Deposit (Dividends, directors loan?)

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

House Deposit (Dividends, directors loan?)

Hi All,

My accountant is currently away for the next 2 days, so I thought I'd ask here first.
    FYI, I don't plan on doing anything until I've spoken to him first, just some guidance so I can formulate some questions/explain myself better to him later.

I've been contracting for just over two years now, and I have around £65,000 in my business account.

Currently I take £12,000 a year salary, with £4,000 a month dividend.
    My daily rate is £425, averaging around £7225 invoiced each month.
    (But this month I'm working with some other clients, so my business account should total £80,000 come the end of May).

I plan on using some of the £80,000 in the business account as a deposit on a house, around £45,000, but ideally as much as possible.
    But I was unsure of the best way to go about getting that money, as it would push me into the higher tax bracket.

Would it be best to take it as dividends and pay the personal tax on that dividend?
    Or would it be best to take a personal loan? I should be able to pay the loan back within 2-3 years.

Thanks!

What does the person who's covering for your account say?

Comment