• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

German AUG or no AUG

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

German AUG or no AUG

Hello,

I'm seeking clarity on what seems to be either the biggest scam going or a just a big misunderstanding on my part.

I'm a UK resident contractor with my own UK ltd company.
    I've got an offer of a contract for only 4 months in Germany.
    The contract would be direct between myself and the client (a German GMBH).

The internet (from what I can see) suggests I need to register for an AUG license, except for one site, which goes into a little more detail and stops using the word "agency".
    It is suggested that if I am a consultant (I am an IT consultant) and I supervise myself and perform my own work (I do) then I do not need to register for an AUG license as there is already a clear definition that seperates me from my client and their employees.

Is there anyone out there that can confirm if they have been or are in a similar situation and what is the definitive answer?

Lastly, and on a semi related note, if I'm staying in Germany for this contract and I stay over weekends because it's cheaper than commuting, can I claim for my weekend rent or hotel as a business expense?

Thanks in advance.

Daz
    Don't believe it, until you see it!

Do a search on the forum for Germany using the search facility.