• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Closing down a Ltd company

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Closing down a Ltd company

I have been an independent contractor for some time now and taken very little from the company in either wages or Dividends.
    As a result I have circa £500k of cash in the company. I was orignally planning to close the company and retire using the 10% CGT option but I understand that has now gone as a option.
    I am trying to work out the most efficient way to to extract this from the company. I don't need to take the money all in one lump (i.e. I could take out £50k a year).
    The company has only 2 directors. Each has savings so no need for a specific income.
    Any suggestions?
    Can I just take dividends over the next few years even if the company isnt trading? I can keep the company going with a small income. Will that help?
    Any advice welcome.

I would certainly be asking a qualified accountant first for those sums of money.

Post on this recently... Well July 2012...

http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...d-company.html

Interesting post about the steps and a couple of gotchas to watch when closing it..

http://forums.contractoruk.com/accou...d-company.html

And a load of posts from here about MVL if that is the answer..

https://www.google.co.uk/search?q=MV...hrome&ie=UTF-8
    Last edited by northernladuk; 26 February 2013, 21:50.
    'CUK forum personality of 2011 - Winner - Yes really!!!!

Comment

Originally posted by ragman View Post