• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Personal tax

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Personal tax

Hi All,

I am new to contracting so would like your advise here for tax benefits mainly. I do have one client for which I did adhoc work for few weeks and now I am not sure how to take payment from him. If I get it directly in my personal account, what will be percentage of personal tax that I need to pay? Or are there any better modes of payments that I can take on , which you can suggest to save tax?

-M

Originally posted by Meghna Vora View Post
    Hi All,

I am new to contracting so would like your advise here for tax benefits mainly. I do have one client for which I did adhoc work for few weeks and now I am not sure how to take payment from him. If I get it directly in my personal account, what will be percentage of personal tax that I need to pay? Or are there any better modes of payments that I can take on , which you can suggest to save tax?

-M
    Contracting - Why are so few of us sole traders? :: Contractor UK

Your first contract :: Contractor UK

Financial Matters - No nonsense summary! :: Contractor UK
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment

You can't really change history. If you did the work personally, and that was the engagement terms, written or oral, then you will have to receive it personally.