• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

VAT invoices

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

VAT invoices

Mainly after a sanity check before I threaten to nuke all that is BT.

I have been asking BT since December 2005 for VAT invoices for the phone lines I use (residential lines but I charge them to my co). They have spectacularly failed to provide them. I have stated that, where VAT has been charged, I am legally entitled to a VAT invoice. The off-shored 'customer services' goon says 'you can see the VAT charged on the eBilling website'. Yes I can but it also clearly states that what you see online is not a VAT invoice.

I'm not actually VAT registered at the moment so it's not a huge issue but it's more a principle that I am entitled to this and I'm not getting it!

Any comments, suggested courses for action or just abuse gratefully received.

Do you actually need a 'VAT invoice' or is it enough to prove that you paid for it and that VAT was chargable? I'm on FRVS myself but still find getting any sort of a receipt/invoice can be a nightmare, especially for things paid with standing orders.

Comment

I spent 12 months trying get bills from BT that showed the VAT I'd paid. They always promised either I'd get the details on my next bill or they'd posted out another copy with details I needed included, nothing ever showed up and in the end I just gave up it wasn't worth the stress of constantly phoning and trying to explain to some numpty what I wanted and why

Hope you have more luck than me!

Comment