• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Buying a flat

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Buying a flat

As a midlands-based contractor, I often find myself compelled to work in the "Silicon Corridor" along the M4. Rather than the usual B&B/lodging/killer commute arrangements, I have been contemplating investing in a "deceptively spacious" flat in one of the jewels of the Southeast, possibly Reading or Slough.

Is it best to do this myself or through the Ltd. Co? Would probably want a 50% mortgage.
    What happens if I take a 6-monther in Dumfries and want to rent it out for a while?

I'd be glad to read of any relevant experiences.

Th

Originally posted by Thaumaturgus View Post
    As a midlands-based contractor, I often find myself compelled to work in the "Silicon Corridor" along the M4. Rather than the usual B&B/lodging/killer commute arrangements, I have been contemplating investing in a "deceptively spacious" flat in one of the jewels of the Southeast, possibly Reading or Slough.

Is it best to do this myself or through the Ltd. Co? Would probably want a 50% mortgage.
    What happens if I take a 6-monther in Dumfries and want to rent it out for a while?

I'd be glad to read of any relevant experiences.

Th
    If this is an investment property then consider getting some advice.

First port of call. TaxCafe Property Company Tax Advice Guide