• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How would this work in terms of HMRC/Company profit?

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How would this work in terms of HMRC/Company profit?

I've never done anything like this before so curious to know where I stand in terms of my company profit.

I am not only selling my services to my end client, but also will be selling them servers.

servers is where I can make some profit for my company/me. I pay myself dividends (%age take home)

Now, I can make say, an example, £100 profit per server.
    Now, when time comes to invoice them and them to make payments, would they pay directly into my company bank account for selling hosting/server solutions?

Would I have to "declare" anything to HMRC/Inland Revenue?

thanks!

Hi

Yes, you would invoice your client for the item, including any markup, and the client would pay into your company bank account. You record the cost of the server as a cost. The net difference would be your profit, and this is decloared to HMRC on your company tax return, and you'll be taxed on it.

If it was done personally, you'd have to declare it on your personal tax return and pay any tax that way anyway.
    ContractorUK Best Forum Adviser 2013

Comment

Thanks Clare.

Tax everywhere...grrr.

how much would HMRC tax on the profit? I wouldn't be making much profit per server - so say around £100 ?

Comment

Originally posted by firehawk View Post
        Thanks Clare.

Tax everywhere...grrr.
        So perhaps you should learn how it works?