• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Notice Period / Termination

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Notice Period / Termination

Hi there,

I'm a newbie contractor looking for some advice.

I've just started a new contract (I'm 2 days in) and the position is not what it was advertised. Obviously the money is fantastic but the role is just not right for me. I've just re-read my contract and it appears that I must give 28 days notice whereas the client can give 5 days notice if they wish. Anyway, I've been offered a different contract from another agency who want me to start within a week. I've looked into the new position/rate and it's great for me. The problem I'm now faced with is how I get out of this existing contract. I really don't want to work 28 days in a job that was incorrectly sold to me as something else - is there any way I can get out of my contract quicker without legal ramifications?

Thanks in advance for your time..... and I apologise if this has been answered already but I'm short on time at the moment so can't search through the previous posts.

Thanks again.

SP.

If the work is not what's specified in the contract, surely this is a breach of contract and you can walk away now?

QB.

Comment

Originally posted by StayPuft View Post
      Hi there,