• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Invoice frequency

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Invoice frequency

I'm just about to start my first contract as a ltd owner rather than through an umbrella (which I've been doing for eight months before now).

My question is about invoice frequency.

Is it best practice to invoice:

A) Once per calendar month (i.e. one invoice at the end of each month). As my agency timesheets are monthly, this method equates to one timesheet per invoice.
    OR
    B) Invoice after one month of work (e.g. start on 6th May, so invoice 1st month on 5th June).

My agency timesheets are monthly, but would the expected invoice frequency change if they were weekly?

I'm probably going to use option B, although (as I would need to have complete timesheets with my agent before issuing the invoice) this will result in me not being able to invoice for month 1 (6th May - 5th June) until the end of June, when June's timesheet will be signed by the client.

I don't mind the cash flow holdup, I just don't want to look stupid by doing something the agent doesn't expect!

Option A - in practice most people will get their timesheets signed after the end of each calendar month and then submit with invoice to pimp.

So in my case I'll probably get round to getting my timesheets for April done at the end of this week (Fri 2 May) and sending off to pimp with invoice either Fri or following week.

Same applies if you start a gig mid month - first invoice just to the end of the month.

Comment