• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

How to stay below 40% tax band

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

How to stay below 40% tax band

Hi all,

I have a full time day PAYE job, but I also own a very small limited company which I started during the '01 dot com crash to sell some software I wrote while I was "resting". The company has a director (me), no staff and I've never run a payroll.

Due to the recovery in the IT industry I now find that my day job is bringing me very close to the 40% tax band. In addition, my small business is also starting to bring in some serious cash .

Up till now I have been taking money out of the business as dividends, but as this would take me over the 40% tax band I wondered if there was a better way.

I wonder if anyone has had a similar situation and had any thoughts about these strategies:

1. Pay a director's pension into my SIPP (although I already have a good employer's final salary pension).

2. Retain the small business profits and invest them in unit trusts or something. Then I could take dividends at a later date, or close the company and take the capital gains.

Is there anything else I can be doing?

Thanks!

ask an accountant is probably the best advice...
    "I can put any old tat in my sig, put quotes around it and attribute to someone of whom I've heard, to make it sound true."
    - Voltaire/Benjamin Franklin/Anne Frank...

Comment