• Visitors can check out the Forum FAQ by clicking this link. You have to register before you can post: click the REGISTER link above to proceed. To start viewing messages, select the forum that you want to visit from the selection below. View our Forum Privacy Policy.
  • Want to receive the latest contracting news and advice straight to your inbox? Sign up to the ContractorUK newsletter here. Every sign up will also be entered into a draw to WIN £100 Amazon vouchers!

Fiisch Ltd vs Fiisch the person money management

Collapse
X
  •  
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

Fiisch Ltd vs Fiisch the person money management

That wondrous time of year is nearly upon us... Dividend Day!

Wondering if there's any basic rules or framework you use for managing your company vs your personal funds that you would care to share please? I've recently returned to contracting, and when I was a contractor a few years before I found those lines became very blurry and I ended up using my ltd co like a savings account that I could dip into willy-nilly (daft, I know). I like to think of myself as having pretty good personal money management, but the addition of a ltd company made my systems go a bit awry and I got in a bit of a mess (e.g.: unnecessarily paying higher dividend tax, putting too much into a pension and then leaving myself with a war-drawer instead of warchest)... Not looking for Dave Ramsey-style advice on how to budget, more how you eat your dividends / any % rules you operate in terms of rainy day funds, pension and the like?

E.g.:
    - Do you take all of your dividends in April and deposit in a savings account, and then drawdown through the year? Or do you take them monthly?
    - Do you pay into a pension monthly, or make a one-off annual contribution once you know the position of your company?
    - Are there any basic guidelines you operate in terms of splitting funds e.g.: personal savings / company savings etc.